European Renal Best Practice
Raymond Vanholder

Dr. Vanholder has published almost 700 papers, including reviews and book chapters, on adequacy of dialysis, uremic toxicity and various topics related to clinical nephrology.

He serves as a member of the editorial review board of several journals and is subject editor of  Nephrology Dialysis and Transplantation. Up till autumn 2010,  he has been chairman of the European Uremic Toxin Work Group (EUTox) and member of the Executive Board and treasurer of Kidney Disease Improving Global Outcomes (KDIGO).

Up till summer 2011 he was member of  the Scientific Advisory Board (SAB) of the European Renal Association - European Dialysis and Transplantation Association (ERA-EDTA) and chairman of the European Renal Best Practice (ERBP), the guidance body of ERA-EDTA.  Before that, he coordinated the European Best Practice Guidelines (EBPG) on hemodialysis.   

He chairs the Renal Disaster Relief Task Force (RDRTF) of the International Society of Nephrology (ISN) and in this function participated as member or coordinator in several international relief operations. Dr.Vanholder was founding president of the Belgian Society of Nephrology (BVN-SBN), is past president of the European Society of Artificial Organs (ESAO) and  current president of ERA-EDTA.